HiddenGallery

Max Thinius // Future of the Past

(please scroll down for pictures)

“How does the future really happen?” – Max is one of Europe’s leading futurologists and is mainly concerned with structures of everyday life and trade, especially food trade – both are very closely related and have an impact on every other industry and our entire everyday life. In this context he gives lectures internationally and works with companies to develop new business models that adapt to changing structures.

In this context Max noticed that in the past it was rarely the big issues that triggered a change in innovation throughout society or that had disruptive (i.e. strongly changing) influences on our everyday life. It was the small ones that, by the way.

Here an article from Bild-Online to this exhibition: Link zu Bild-Online

With this thought in mind, Max went on a search and took photographs of these “transformations to the future that took place in the past”, these small, almost imperceptible details that have changed our everyday life more than great innovations. Together with his customers and in lectures, he uses these insights to develop models today in which these small but disruptive elements are specifically sought, which completely change our everyday life and make new business models possible or necessary.

This observation has resulted in a work that currently comprises 24 individual motifs. Three motifs are published and exhibited approximately every five months.

The publication of the first three works takes place in the legendary gallery and workshop “Kappich & Piel” in Hamburg. The first three motifs were presented here on July 10, 2017, in a closed vernissage to an audience that has significantly influenced society in its present form through its own work. From 11 July onwards, they will be generally accessible to the public.

The format of the first three works is 1.20 x 1.20 meters, in a special pigment printing process, in a handcrafted model frame, suspended, behind glass.

The pictures – the first of 8 series á 3 subjects

All about hens // “Picture 1, Series 1/8

With the domestication and use of the chicken as an important source of protein and food, our society has taken a huge step forward in evolutionary terms. The hunter-gatherer became a planned provider. The basis for our present coexistence. Until then, chickens lived mainly wild and in trees, as their “natural henhouse”. Through this step, which made an enormous development of the human brain and its abilities possible, many innovations became possible in the first place. To this day, the chicken is still the most common domestic and farm animal in the human race – with over 20 billion chickens worldwide, there are about three chickens for every human being.

All about eating // Picture 2, Series 1/8

The knowledge of being able to process grain into flour and to produce the most unusual new creations such as bread, but also cakes of the most varied kinds, was a decisive step in the nutrition of the world population. Originally to prevent hunger and as an important source of energy, cakes were even used to produce luxury products and food was increasingly becoming a pleasure that went beyond mere nutrition. This led to the development of agriculture, which still determines large parts of the landscape and world culture today. And a living and eating culture developed which has become an essential contribution to social interaction and the structure of the daily routine. Even industrial and economic processes are aligned with this central everyday culture.

All about mushrooms // Picture 3, Series 1/8

The realization that mushrooms are not only edible, but that all varieties, even the inedible ones, have a valuable function for our everyday life and have nature, is an essential point in human development. Beneficial organisms, such as mushrooms, which do “clean up” the forest and enrich the soil with important nutrients, have made many cultural-historical developments possible. From the cultivation of food to the planting of useful forests – in which wood is cultivated specifically and used for the growth of our culture. The “inedible” forest fungi provide valuable nutrients for growth and help in the utilization of waste wood.

The picture – the second of 8 series á 3 subjects

All about car-infrastructure // Picture 1, Serie 2/8

The automobile has taken individual transport and the ability of people to travel long distances to a new level. In the process, entire urban structures have developed around the automobile to enable people living in them to handle them as easily and comfortably as possible. In some cases, this has even been at the expense of the people living in them. This is therefore increasingly being changed at present. For a long time, however, the automobile stood for progress and prospective development, even though it usually spends most of its time in parking lots. Nevertheless, its influence on culture and economy was immense.

All about agriculture // Pictures 2 + 3, Serie 2/8

The agricultural division and cultivation of land has made possible the largest population growth in the world to date. The supply of “everything you need for life” was no longer left to chance but to planning. With this security behind them, industrial development and the construction of cities could be pushed forward, because security of food supply was also an important basis for this.

Inquiries about the exhibitions and motifs are best addressed to Max Büro:

welcome@maxthinius.de // +49 30 6130 90 41

This post is also available in: German

HiddenGallery

Max Thinius // Future of the Past

(please scroll down for pictures)

„Wie entsteht eigentlich Zukunft?“ – Max ist einer von Europas führenden Futurologen und beschäftigt sich vor allem mit Strukturen des Alltags und des Handels, vor allem des Lebensmittelhandels – beides hängt sehr eng zusammen und hat Auswirkungen auf jede andere Branche und unseren gesamten Alltag. In diesem Zusammenhang hält er international Vorträge und erarbeitet mit Unternehmen neue Geschäftsmodelle die sich den wandelnden Strukturen anpassen.

In diesem Zusammenhang ist Max aufgefallen, dass es in der Vergangenheit selten die großen Themen waren, die einen gesamtgesellschaftlichen Innovationswandel ausgelöst haben bzw. die disruptive (also stark verändernde) Einflüsse auf unseren Alltag hatten. Es waren die kleinen, die nebenbei.

Hier ein Beitrag aus Bild-Online zu dieser Ausstellung: Link zu Bild-Online

Mit diesem Gedanken im Kopf ist Max auf die Suche gegangen und hat diese “in der Vergangenheit stattgefundenen Wandlungen zur Zukunft”, diese kleinen, fast unmerklichen Details, die aber unseren Alltag mehr verändert haben, als große Innovationen, fotografisch festgehalten. Mit seinen Kunden und auf Vorträgen erarbeitet er aus diesen Erkenntnissen heute Modelle in denen gezielt nach diesen kleinen aber disruptiven Elementen gesucht wird, die unseren Alltag komplett ändern und neue Geschäftsmodelle möglich bzw. notwendig machen.

Aus dieser Betrachtung ist ein Werk geworden, das derzeit 24 Einzelmotive umfasst. Hieraus werden ca. alle fünf Monate drei Motive veröffentlicht und ausgestellt.

Die Veröffentlichung der ersten drei Werke findet in der legendären Galerie und Werkstatt “Kappich & Piel” in Hamburg statt. Die ersten drei Sujets wurden hier am 10. Juli 2017 in einer geschlossenen Vernissage einem Publikum vorgestellt, dass maßgeblich selber durch sein Wirken die Gesellschaft in der heutigen Form mitgeprägt hat. Ab dem 11. Juli sind sie allgemein für die Öffentlichkeit zugänglich.

Das Format der ersten drei Werke hat 1,20 x 1,20 Meter, in einem speziellen Pigmentdruckverfahren, in einem handwerklichen Modellrahmen, schwebend, hinter Glas gefasst.

Die Motive – die erste von 8 Serien á 3 Sujets

 

All about hens // “Hühner im Baum – sitzend” // Motiv 1, Serie 1/8

Mit der Domestizierung und Nutzung des Huhns als wichtigem Eiweiß- und Nahrungslieferant hat unsere Gesellschaft sich evolutorisch mit einem enormen Schritt nach vorne entwickelt. Aus dem Jäger und Sammler wurde ein geplanter Versorger. Die Grundlage für unser heutiges Zusammenleben. Hühner lebten bis dahin vor allem wild und in Bäumen, als ihren “natürlichen Ställen”. Durch diesen Schritt, der eine enorme Entwicklung auch des menschlichen Hirns und dessen Fähigkeiten möglich gemacht hat, sind viele Innovationen überhaupt erst möglich geworden. Bis heute ist das Huhn das verbreitetste Haus- und Nutztier des Menschen – mit über 20 Milliarden Hühnern weltweit kommen etwa drei Hühner auf einen Menschen.

 

All about eating // “Kuchen aus Kerzenresten – angerichtet” // Motiv 2, Serie 1/8

Die Erkenntnis Getreide zu Mehl verarbeiten zu können und daraus die ungewöhnlichsten neuen Kreationen wie Brot, aber auch Kuchen verschiedenster Art zu erzeugen, war ein entscheidender Schritt in der Ernährung der Weltbevölkerung. Ursprünglich zur Vermeidung von Hunger und als wichtiger Energielieferant, wurden mit Kuchen sogar Luxusprodukte hergestellt und Essen zunehmend zu einem Genuss, der über die reine Ernährung hinaus ging. Hieraus entwickelte sich die bis heute weite Teile der Landschaft und Weltkultur bestimmende Agrarwirtschaft. Und es entwickelte sich eine Lebens- und Esskultur die zu einem wesentlichen Beitrag des gesellschaftlichen Miteinanders und Struktur des Tagesablaufes geworden ist. Selbst industrielle und wirtschaftliche Prozesse werden an dieser zentralen Alltagskultur ausgerichtet.

 

All about mushrooms // “Pilz im Wald – nicht essbar” // Motiv 3, Serie 1/8

Die Erkenntnis, dass Pilze nicht nur essbar sind, sondern dass alle Sorten, auch die nicht essbaren, eine wertvolle Funktion für unseren Alltag haben und die Natur haben, ist ein wesentlicher Punkt in der Entwicklung des Menschen. Die Nützlinge, wie zum Beispiel Pilze, die “Aufräumarbeiten” im Wald besorgen und den Boden mit wichtigen Nährstoffen anreichern, haben viele kulturgeschichtliche Entwicklungen erst ermöglicht. Zum Anbau von Nahrung bis hin zur Anlage von Nutzwäldern – in denen Holz gezielt angebaut und für das Wachstum unserer Kultur verwendet wird. Die “nicht essbaren” Waldpilze liefern wertvolle Nährstoffe für das Wachstum und helfen bei der Verwertung von Altholz.

Die Motive – die zweite von 8 Serien á 3 Sujets

 

All about car-infrastructure // “Parkhaus mit Kronleuchter – und Autos” // Motiv 1, Serie 2/8

Das Automobil hat den Individualverkehr und die Möglichkeiten von Menschen große Distanzen zu überbrücken auf eine neue Ebene gehoben. Dabei haben sich ganze Stadtstrukturen um das Automobil herum entwickelt, um den darin lebenden Menschen einen möglichst einfachen und komfortablen Umgang mit ihnen zu ermöglichen. Das teilweise sogar zu Lasten der darin lebenden Menschen. Das wird derzeit daher zunehmend geändert. Das Automobil stand aber lange Zeit für Fortschritt und prospektive Entwicklung, auch wenn es meist den größten Teil seiner Zeit auf Parkplätzen verbringt. Dennoch war sein Einfluß auf Kultur und Wirtschaft immens.

 

All about agriculture // “Duochon – Tierhaltung und Gemüseanbau” // Motiv 2 + 3, Serie 2/8

Die landwirtschaftliche Aufteilung und Bewirtschaftung von Land hat das auf dieser Welt bislang größte Bevölkerungswachstum erst möglich gemacht. Die Versorgung mit “allem was man für das Leben braucht” wurde nicht länger dem Zufall, sondern der Planung überlassen. Mit dieser Sicherheit im Rücken konnte die industrielle Entwicklung und der Bau von Städten angeschoben werden, denn auch hierfür war die Sicherheit der Versorgung mit Lebensmitteln eine wichtige Grundlage.

Anfragen zu den Ausstellungen und Motiven am besten an Max Büro:

welcome@maxthinius.de // +49 30 6130 90 41